Through speaker presentations and a series of more informal roundtable discussions, the 2014 National Safety Conference for the Poultry Industry will address current safety challenges facing industry safety professionals today. Recognizing an ongoing opportunity, special emphasis will be given to ergonomics and reducing cumulative trauma disorders.

SafetyThe Conference is sponsored by the Georgia Tech Research Institute/ATRP, U.S. Poultry & Egg Association, Georgia Poultry Federation, National Chicken Council and National Turkey Federation. This year’s conference will be held August 18-20, at the Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa in Destin, Fla.

“Maintaining workplace safety is a full-time job that should involve all levels of staff, from hourly employees to managers and supervisors. Staying up-to-date on current trends will help reduce injuries and create a culture of workplace safety recognition,” said program committee chairman, Mike Nations, Harrison Poultry, in a press release distributed by U.S. Poultry & Egg Association.

Mr. Joseph Roesler, area director in OSHA’s Mobile, Ala. office, will update attendees on OSHA activities impacting the poultry industry, and several recipients of the 2014 Poultry Safety Awards will share best practices they have implemented to improve workplace safety and health. Other topics will include: Safety’s First…What’s Second? How to Communicate Your Safety Message; Washington Review; Repetitive Motion Injuries: Implications of Recent NIOSH Report; Workers Compensation Panel; Ergonomics Challenges and Tools; Safety Awards Panel; The David Wylie Insight Lecture Series; Active Shooter Emergency Response; and related roundtable discussions on topics such as Fleet Safety; Industrial Hygiene; Live Production Safety and Behavior-Based Safety Practices.

To register online for the 2014 National Safety Conference for the Poultry Industry, click here or visit

The agenda was developed by a program committee of safety management professionals. The program committee included: Mike Nations (committee chairman), Harrison Poultry; Robert Barragan, Case Foods, Inc.; Lisa Blotsky, Tyson Foods, Inc.; Dr. Doug Britton, Georgia Tech Research Institute/ATRP; Kristi Campbell, Georgia Tech Research Institute; Chris Eavenson, Sanderson Farms, Inc.; Ronnie Franklin, Fieldale Farms Corporation; Mike Giles, Georgia Poultry Federation; Reggie McLee, Wayne Farms LLC; Daniel Ortiz, Georgia Tech Research Institute; Chad Randolph, Pilgrim’s; David Schaller, West Liberty Foods; Douglas Sikes, Crider, Inc.; Larry Stine, Wimberly, Lawson, Steckel, Schneider & Stine PC; Tim Ward, Keystone Foods; and Karen Waters, GNP Company.