The House of Representatives this week voted 216-210 to remove Rep. Kevin McCarthy as Speaker of the House, creating a vacancy in the top position of the chamber.

Before any bills can move forward, including funding the government for FY2024, the House must now select a new Speaker to replace McCarthy.

Rep. McCarthy has indicated he will not run again for the position, creating an opening for others to seek the office. As of now, Majority Leader Steve Scalise (R-LA) and Judiciary Committee Chair Jim Jordan (R-OH) have announced their intention to seek the Speakership. Others are rumored to be mulling a run for Speaker, but have not formally announced an intention to run.

Rep. Patrick McHenry (R-NC) has assumed the temporary position of Speaker Pro Tempore, a position held in secrecy unless necessary and designed to provide continuity of government during the time of transition to the next Speaker.

House Republicans plan to hold a full conference meeting on Tuesday followed by an internal vote on Wednesday. No formal House floor vote for a new Speaker has been scheduled as of now.