The 118th Congress has formally convened, with the Senate swearing in its members on Tuesday and the House gaveling in, albeit without a Speaker chosen yet.

Republicans gained control of the House in the 2022 midterm elections after four years of Democratic control, but have not been able to choose a Speaker for the new Congress. A majority of votes of members present are required to win the Speakership, and with all House members present for the votes thus far, a total of 218 votes are necessary to choose a Speaker. The current balance of power rests at 222 Republicans and 21 Democrats and one vacancy due to the death of Rep. Donald McEachin (D-VA), giving Republicans a 10 vote margin. That means Republicans hold a four vote cushion assuming all members are present.

Votes continue into Friday, with all other business in the chamber held up until a Speaker is chosen.

Meanwhile, the Senate heads into its third year of Democratic control after Republicans lost the chamber in the 2020 elections. Senate Democrats begin the 118th Congress with one more seat than they did in the 117th, bringing the balance of the chamber to 51 Democrats to 49 Republicans. This officially ends the power-sharing agreement both parties struck for the previous Congress, as Democrats will now have majorities on all committees in addition to chairmanships and control of the floor schedule.

Senate Democrats reelected Sen. Chuck Schumer (D-NY) to Senate Majority Leader and Republicans reelected Mitch McConnell (R-KY) to Minority Leader. Sen. McConnell’s new term as Minority Leader officially makes him the longest serving leader of a party in the Senate ever, passing the late Sen. Mike Mansfield (D-MT), who served as Majority Leader for 16 years. Sen. McConnell was first elected Republican Leader in 2006.