House announces committee leaders, rosters

On February 3, 2023, in Congressional News, by David Elrod

Both parties in the House of Representatives this week announced the makeup of each committee.

The House Appropriations Committee, chaired by Rep. Kay Granger (R-TX), who in the last Congress served as the ranking member, includes the following Republican members:

Reps. Hal Rogers (R-KY), Robert Aderholt (R-AL), Mike Simpson (R-ID), John Carter (R-TX), Ken Calvert (R-CA), Tom Cole (R-OK), Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL), Steve Womack (R-AR), Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN), Dave Joyce (R-OH), Andy Harris (R-MD), Mark Amodei (R-NV), Chris Stewart (R-UT), David Valadao (R-CA), Dan Newhouse (R-WA), John Molenaar (R-MI), John Rutherford (R-FL), Ben Cline (R-VA), Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA), Mike Garcia (R-CA), Ashley Hinson (R-IA), Tony Gonzales (R-TX), Julia Letlow (R-LA), Michael Cloud (R-TX), Michael Guest (R-MS), Ryan Zinke (R-MT), Andrew Clyde (R-GA), Jake LaTurner (R-KS), Jerry Carl (R-AL), Stephanie Bice (R-OK), Scott Franklin (R-FL), Jake Ellzey (R-TX), and Juan Ciscomani (R-AZ).

Rep. Andy Harris (R-MD) will serve as chairman of the Agriculture subcommittee and Rep. Sanford Bishop (D-GA) will be ranking member.

Democrats serving on the committee, led by ranking member Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), include:

Reps. Steny Hoyer (D-MD), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Sanford Bishop (D-GA), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Betty McCollum (D-MN), Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL), Henry Cuellar (D-TX), Chellie Pingree (D-ME), Mike Quigley (D-IL), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Matt Cartwright (D-PA), Grace Meng (D-NY), Mark Pocan (D-WI), Pete Aguilar (D-CA), Lois Frankel (D-FL), Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ), Norma Torres (D-CA), Ed Case (D-HI), Adriano Espaillat (D-NY), Josh Harder (D-CA), Jennifer Wexton (D-VA), David Trone (D-MD), Lauren Underwood (D-IL), Susie Lee (D-NV), and Joe Morelle (D-NY).

The committee includes 34 Republicans and 27 Democrats.

Meanwhile, the House Agriculture Committee roster, chaired by Rep. GT Thompson (R-PA), includes the following Republican members:

Reps. Austin Scott (R-GA), Scott DesJarlais (R-TN), Doug LaMalfa (R-CA), David Rouzer (R-NC), Trent Kelly (R-MS), Don Bacon (R-NE), Dusty Johnson (R-SD), Jim Baird (R-IN), Tracey Mann (R-KS), Mary Miller (R-IL), Barry Moore (R-AL), Kat Cammack (R-FL), Brad Finstad (R-MN), Frank Lucas (R-OK), John Rose (R-TN), Ronny Jackson (R-TX), Mark Alford (R-MO), Lori Chavez-Deremer (R-OR), Monica De La Cruz (R-TX), John Duarte (R-CA), Nick Langworthy (R-NY), Max Miller (R-OH), Marc Molinaro (R-NY), Zach Nunn (R-IA), and Derrick Van Orden (R-WI).

Democrats serving on the committee, led by ranking member Rep. David Scott (D-GA), include:

Reps. Jim Costa (D-CA), Jim McGovern (D-MA), Alma Adams (D-NC), Abigail Spanberger (D-VA), Jahana Hayes (D-CT), Shontel Brown (D-OH), Stacey Plaskett (D-VI), Sharice Davids (D-KS), Elissa Slotkin (D-MI), Yadira Caraveo (D-CO), Andrea Salinas (D-OR), Mari Gluesenkamp Perez (D-WA), Don Davis (D-NC), Jill Tokuda (D-HI), Nikki Budzinski (D-IL), Eric Sorensen (D-IL), Gabe Vasquez (D-NM), Jasmine Crockett (D-TX), Jonathan Jackson (D-IL), and Greg Casar (D-TX).

Rep. Tracey Mann (R-KS) will chair the Livestock, Dairy, and Poultry subcommittee. Democrats have not announced the ranking member position yet.

The committee includes 26 Republicans and 21 Democrats.

House Republicans announced the remaining committee chairs, including:

House Armed Services Committee: Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL)

House Budget Committee: Rep. Jodey Arrington (R-TX)

House Education and the Workforce Committee: Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-NC)

House Energy and Commerce Committee: Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA)

House Ethics Committee: Rep. Michael Guest (R-MS)

House Financial Services Committee: Rep. Patrick McHenry (R-NC)

House Foreign Affairs Committee: Rep. Michael McCaul (R-TX)

House Homeland Security Committee: Rep. Mark Green (R-TN)

House Administration Committee: Rep. Bryan Steil (R-WI)

House Intelligence Committee: Rep. Mike Turner (R-OH)

House Judiciary Committee: Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH)

House Natural Resources Committee: Rep. Bruce Westerman (R-AR)

House Oversight and Accountability Committee: Rep. James Comer (R-KY)

House Rules Committee: Rep. Tom Cole (R-OK)

House Science, Space, and Technology Committee: Rep. Frank Lucas (R-OK)

House Small Business Committee: Rep. Roger Williams (R-TX)

House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee: Rep. Sam Graves (R-MO)

House Veterans’ Affairs Committee: Rep. Mike Bost (R-IL)

House Ways and Means Committee: Rep. Jason Smith (R-MO)

Finally, House Republicans announced the formation of Weaponization of the Federal Government subcommittee within the Judiciary Committee (chaired also by Rep. Jim Jordan, R-OH), as well as the formation of a Select Committee on the Strategic Competition Between the U.S. and the Chinese Communist Party (chaired by Rep. Mike Gallagher, R-WI). Republicans also announced that the Select Committee on the Climate Crisis, Select Committee on Economic Disparity and Fairness in Growth, Select Committee on the Modernization of Congress, and Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the United States Capitol are no longer standing.